Tel: 042-35246555
Cell: 0322-4416956

Home / Food industry

Food industry


Each entry has entry name, E-number, halal status, and a short description, all separated by a dash (-). Not all entry has an E-number. Halal status is a collection from the sources, including the vegetarian websites. This halal status must be used as an information only, and must not regarded as a fatwa/religious decree.

DISCLAIMER:  You are solely responsible for what you eat. I and everybody involved in developing these halal pages accept no responsibility nor liability to the food selection made by anybody after reading these pages. This disclaimer applies both for legal purpose that could arise for whatever reason, and for responsibility in front of Allah in the hereafter.

100% vegetable shortening--Halal-Source of this kind of shortening is plant.

Adipic Acid-355-Halal-Pertaining or belonging to fat, prepared naturally from beet juice or synthetically. Used in baking powders instead of tartar and phosphates because it is not hygroscopic (moisture absorbent). Natural adipic acid is better for health in the long run.

Agar-406-Halal-Also known as agar-agar, derived from seaweed. Used in food as gelling agent. Considered a mild laxative. Agar can be used to prepare jello or jelly similar to the ones prepared from collagen which is derived from animals. Islamically, agar is far better than collagen.

Alanine --Questionable-A crystalline water-soluble non-essential amino acid. Can be found in plants, and can also be produced by humans and animals. C3H7NO2

Albumen --NonVeg (Halal)-The protein component of egg white, which includes albumin. Derived from eggs, probably battery;

Albumin --NonVeg (Halal)-A water-soluble protein coagulated by heat, found in many animal and plant tissues, especially egg white, blood plasma, and milk.

Alcohol (alcohol beverages) --Haram-To cut a long story short, all sorts of alcohol beverages are strictly not permissible for consumption. It makes no difference whether it is a lot (e.g. a glass of beer) or a bit (aroma in bakery products that comes from alcoholic beverages). Please refer to a thorough discussion on this matter between two halal auditors. It is a bit long discussion, but certainly clears many doubts. There is an introduction in Malay, and some sentences here and there, but in general, you can follow the English discussion without loosing the basic arguments. Here is the discussion on alcohol.

Ambergris--NonVeg (Halal)-Valuable wax secreted in the intestines of sperm whales

Amylose--Halal-The straight chain form of starch which is soluble in water. Of plant origin.

Anatto Extracts-160b-Vegetarian (Halal)-Yellowish red dye made from the pulp enclosing the seeds of a small tropical tree, used to color fabric and food products

Anchovies--NonVeg (Halal)-Small fish, found on pizzas and in some brands of worcester sauce.

Animal Fat --NonVeg-Carcass fat not milk fat.

Animal Shortening--Haram-Fats and oils of animal origin. See Shortening

Animal Tissue Extract--Haram-If no indication on specific halal source.

Antioxidants--Halal-Chemical compounds used to protect certain food components from being destroyed or lost through oxidation.

Artificial colour--Halal-Adds colour

Artificial Flavors--Halal-only if made from Halal ingredients only

Ascorbic acid-300-Halal-Vitamin C, stabilizer, colour preservative

Aspartame-951-Halal-Vegetarian-artificial sweetening substance

Aspartic-Acid--Questionable-DL & L Forms; Aminosuccinate Acid

Aspic Savoury --Questionable-jelly derived from meat or fish.

Bacon--Haram-A side of pig meat (pork).

Beer --Haram-All cask conditioned "real" ales will have been fined with isinglass, and some keg, bottled and canned bitters, milds and stouts also. Lagers are generally chill filtered, but some brands may use isinglass on occasion (see also Beer from the Alcohol Info Sheet).

Benzoate, Benzoic acid, Benzoate of soda--Halal-Benzoic acid and sodium benzoate are used for food preservation.

Beta-Carotene-106a-Questionable-Provitamin A; Halal status depends on the carrier. Pork gelatin may be used for the carrier, in which case it becomes haram.

BHA Butylated hydroxyanisole-320-Halal-Chemical preservative, antioxidant

BHT Butylated hydroxyanisole-321-Halal-Chemical preservative, antioxidant. Halal if the carrier is halal

Bile Salts--Questionable-Bile is the yellowish brown or green liquid secreted by the liver. Food industry uses bile salts whenever there is fat to be emulsified so that it can be easily digested and hydrolysed. Since the origin of bile salts is animal, one has, therefore, to find out the type of animal used. If the source is pork, then, definitely, it becomes Haram.

Biotin -- Vitamin H; Vitamin B Factor--Questionable (Halal)-A vitamin in the B complex that is found in egg yolk, cereals, milk, and liver and is used by the body in metabolizing fat and carbohydrates. Deficiency can lead to dermatitis, loss of appetite, hair loss, and anemia.

Biscuits --Questionable-Quite likely to contain animal fats and gelatin made from questionable ingredients.

Bleaching Agents---Chemical process, through oxidation, which results in whitening. Most of the flour we use today are bleached, hence the exceptionally white appearance. Nutritionally, it is better to use brown flour. This also applies to bread.

Bone --Questionable-Used in bone china and cutlery handles.

Bran--Halal-A substance that forms outer layers of grains obtained as a by-product of wet milling. Bran contains high amounts of cellulose or fibre. Important to health, it increases peristaltic movement, improves defecation and reduces cancer of the colon.

Breakfast cereals --Questionable-Often fortified with vitamin D3.

Burow's Solution --Questionable-Aluminium Acetate, see Aluminium salt

Butter --Halal-Solidified milk fat, especially cow's milk, used principally as a food item. Pure butter is suitable for vegetarians.

Butyric Acid--Halal-A short chain fatty acid found in milk.

Calcium carrageenan--Halal (plant)-Thickener, gelling agent, improves body & mouth feel

Calcium cyclamate-952-Vegetarian-artificial sweetening substance

Calcium disodium EDTA--Halal-Sequestrant, stabilizer

Calcium saccharin-954-Halal-artificial sweetening substance

Calcium stearoyl lactylate-482-Questionable-Whipping agent, emulsifier

Capsules -Haram--Usually made from gelatine, vegetarian alternatives are Halal coming onto the market.

Carrageenan-407-Halal (Plant)-A complex carbohydrate obtained from edible red seaweeds, especially the seaweed Irish moss, used in the commercial preparation of several kinds of food and drink; Gelling agent, emulsifier, thickener, stabilizer, suspending agent

Casein --NonVeg, Halal-This is a product made when milk is heated with an acid, like lactic acid.

Caseinate (Sodium & Calcium)--Questionable-Casein mixed with a metal, like calcium caseinate or sodium caseinate

Cashmere ---Animal derived clothing material.

Caviar --NonVeg (Halal)-Fish eggs. The fish must be killed to obtain the eggs.

Cellulose gum--Halal-Stabilizer, solubility

Cheese --Questionable-Likely to have been produced using animal rennet. Halal if vegetarian rennet is used (either microbial or synthetic)

Chelate (Chelation)--Questionable-A complex chemical compound formed through the process of chelation. Its source could either be of plants or animals.

Chewing gum --Questionable-Often contain glycerine. Wrigleys use a vegetable glycerine.

Chips --Questionable-May have been fried in animal fat.

Chitin --Questionable (Halal)-Produced from crab & shrimp shells.

Chocolate --Questionable-Watch out for whey and emulsifiers, otherwise it is Halal

Chocolate Liquor--Halal-A semi-viscous syrup containing chocolate , sugar, and other ingredients. It is used in making candy, drinks and chocolate flavoured foods. It is not liquor or alcohol, but because it is liquid, it is called liquor. (?

Cholesterol--Haram-A type of fat always of animal origin. If extracted from a dhabiha animal, it is halal.

Citric acid-330-Halal-Sources are plant, usually of the citrus family. (e.g. orange, lime, lemon).

CMC (Carboxymethyl cellulose)-466-Halal-Stabilizer, prevents syneresis, retains moisture

Cobalamine--Halal-Synthetically prepared Vitamin B12.

Cochineal -120-NonVeg (Halal)-CI 75470 -- Colouring, made from crushed insects.

Cocoa Butter--Halal-A yellowish white waxy fat or oil obtained from cocoa seeds and used in pharmaceuticals, candies and confections. Of plant source.

Corn starch--Halal-Anti-caking agent, thickener

Cream of Tartar--Halal-A white crystalline chemical called potassium bitartrate; used in baking powder and as a component of laxatives. Watch out for alcohol-based source.

Crisps ---Often use whey as a flavour carrier, ready salted are the only clearly vegetarian flavour, though some beef crisps are flavoured with yeast extract and are therefore suitable.

Cyclamic acid-952-Vegetarian-artificial sweetening substance

Dextrose--Halal-Also used as a flavouring in the food industry, it is the result of hydrolysis of starch. Other names for dextrose include corn sugar, dextroglucose, fruit sugar and glucose.

Diglyceride--Haram-Emulsifier. If of animal origin it should be suspected till the source is known.

Dimethylpolysiloxane-900-Vegetarian-emulsifier, antifoaming agent, anti- caking agent

Dipotassium phosphate--Halal-Emulsifier, stabilizer

Disaccharide--Halal-The sources are mainly plants.

Disodium Guanilate / Disodium Inosinate--Questionable-Nitrogen chemical compounds derived from genetic material (DNA & RNA), used as enhancers of meat-like flavours.

Dry Artificial Colors--Halal-if not extracted with alcohol

E-Carotene (colouring) (alpha, beta, gamma)-160a-Questionable-Glycerince may be used as the carrier. If Halal carrier is used, it is Halal.

Edible Fats --Questionable-Can mean animal fats.

Egg --NonVeg (Halal)-Some vegetarians may wish to avoid battery eggs and/or barn eggs. The Vegetarian Society does not award its V symbol to any products containing eggs other than free range.

Elastin --NonVeg-A fibrous protein resembling collagen that is the main constituent of the elastic fibers of connective tissue

Emulsifiers --Questionable-May not be vegetarian.

Enzyme--Halal-Alpha Amylase and Protease in bakery products

Enzyme --Questionable-A protein substance produced in living cells, that influences a chemical reaction within a plant or animal without being changed itself; an organic catalyst. Enzymes help break down food so that it can be digested. Pepsin is an enzyme.

Enzyme-treated starches-1405-Questionable-thickener, vegetable gum, the enzyme is questionable

Erythorbic acid-317-Halal-Chemical preservative

Estradiol --NonVeg-An estrogenic hormone produced in the ovaries and synthesized for use in treating estrogen deficiency and breast cancer. C18H24O2

Estrogen --NonVeg-Any of several steroid hormones, produced mainly in the ovaries, that stimulate estrus and the development of female secondary sexual characteristics.

Estrone --NonVeg-An estrogenic hormone produced in the ovaries and synthesized for use in treating estrogen deficiency and breast cancer. C18H22O2

Ethanol---See Alcohol

Ethyl Alcohol---See Alcohol

Ethylene Oxide--Questionable-A fumigant gas used as a sterilant against insects and micro-organisms in dry foods that do not contain salt. When reacted with salt, chlorohydrins are produced. They are considered cancer causing agents.

Farina--Halal-A granular flour or meal made from cereal grains, especially whole wheat.

Fast Food --Questionable-Watch out for Bean/Vegetable burgers being cooked with fish/chicken/meat products.

Fatty Acids --Questionable-May be of animal or vegetable origin.

Felt ---Made from wool or fur.

Fiber--Halal-Sources are plant. Provide roughage to diet.

Folic Acid --Questionable-Could be from pork liver used in vitamins, or from plant

Food yeast--Halal-Microscopic, unicellular, fungal plant used for fermentation process and in baking bread.

Fructose--Halal-A fruit sugar that is also called levulose. It is used in many food products and in pharmaceutics. Fructose is recommended as a sweetener especially for those who wish to reduce weight.

Fumaric acid-297-Halal-Tartness, flavouring agent

Galactose--Halal-A single sugar derived from the hydrolysis of milk sugar, lactose.

Gelatine or Gelatin or Jello Gelatine-441-Questionable-A product obtained (by boiling in water) from the partial hydrolysis of collagen derived from cartilage, bones, tendons and skin in animals. Vegetable gelatine is similar to animal gelatine in its function and is obtained from gluten of wheat or other cereals. Fish gelatine alsa exists. Concerned Muslims should find out the source of gelatine used. Alternatives such as Agar Agar, Carrageen and Gelozone exist.

Gin--Haram-A strong colorless alcoholic drink distilled from grain and flavored with juniper berries

Gliadin (Gluten)--Halal-Ptotein found in wheat and rye.

Glucose---A syrup containing dextrose, maltose, dextrin, and water that is obtained from starch and used in food manufacture and in alcoholic fermentation

Glycerine or Glycerol -422-Questionable-Humectant, may be produced from animal fats, synthesised from propylene or from fermentation of sugars. Halal if the source is synthetic or plant.

Glycerol monostearate--Questionable-Moistness, emulsifier

Glycine-640-Questionable (Halal)-Sweetener, flavour enhancer

Glycogen--NonVeg-It is an animal starch composed of glucose units.

Gravy Vegetarian ---Gravy mixes are available. Be careful in restaurants.

Guar gum-412-Halal-Stabilizer, thickening agent

Gum arabic-414-Halal-Emulsifier, thickening, adhesive

Gum tragacanth-413-Questionable-Thickener, binder, stabilizer

Ham--Haram-Meat cut from the thigh of the hind leg of a hog after curing by salting or smoking

Hemi Cellulose--Halal-A complex carbohydrate similar to cellulose. Sourced from plants.

Histamine--Questionable-An amine formed from an amino acid histidine and is found in tissues and blood. Also prepared synthetically.

Honey --NonVeg (Halal)-Avoided by most vegans.

Hormones--Haram-Usually animal hormones are used for human consumption. One has to find out the source before passing a judgement.

Hydrogenated oil--Halal-Vegetable oil being hydrogenated making it solid at room temperature.

Ice Cream --Questionable-Look out for non dairy fats, E numbers, eggs.

Inulin--Halal-Used in bread for diabetics and is obtained from plants.

Iodine--Halal-A nutrient for thyroid gland.

Isinglass --NonVeg (Halal)-A fining agent derived from the swim bladders of certain tropical fish, especially the Chinese sturgeon.

Isopropyl citrate--Halal-Improves & protects flavour

Jelly --Haram-Usually contains gelatine though alternatives are available.

Keratin--NonVeg-An insoluble protein of hair, hooves, nails and feathers. Used for coating pills that are intended to be dissolved only in the intestines. Also used in the production of hydrolyzates.

Lactic Acid-270-Questionable (Halal)-An organic acid formed by the oxidation of sugars in the body or formed by the fermentation of milk and other products.


Lactose--Questionable-The main sugar present in milk. Upon hydrolysis, yields glucose and galactose. Produced from milk, sometimes as a by product of the cheese making process.

Lactostearia--Halal-Emulsifier, inhibits spoilage

Lactylate--Halal-Inhibits spoilage, flavouring agent

Lanolin--NonVeg (Halal)-Also known as wool fat or wool wax, it is used as an ointment base in pharmaceutics and cosmetics. Produced from sheep's wool. Used to make vitamin D3.

Lard--Haram-Fat from swine particulaly found in the abdominal cavity. Totally Haram for us.

L-Cysteine-910-Questionable-Halal if the source is from petroleum or synthetic.

L-Cysteine monohydrochloride-920-NonVeg-flour treatment agent

Lecithin-322-Questionable-Emulsifier of fat. Nearly always produced from soya beans, though can be produced from eggs. In the USA, sources are mainly soyabean and egg yolk, which are halal.

Lipases-1104-Questionable-flavour enchancer, an enzyme produced by the liver, pancreas, or stomach, or by plant seeds, that breaks down fats. Bacterial lipase is Halal.

Lipids--Questionable-Essential fatty acids found in fish, plant and animals. If source is animal; it is suspected.

Lysine--NonVeg (Halal)-Amino acids mainly from from meat, eggs, and milk. Plant sources of amino acids are often weak in lysine and tryptophan. Found in many cereal proteins and used to enrich flour and bread.

Magnesium stearate-470-Questionable-emulsifier, stabiliser, halal if stearate is from plant fat.

Magnesium Stearate (stearic acid)--Questionable-Used as an active ingredient in medicine tablets. Haram when derived from animal source.

Malt--Halal-Grain of one or more varieties of barley, which has been soaked in water, is made to germinate and then dried. However, if malt has been allowed to ferment in water anaerobically(without air), alcohol would be produced. The liquid becomes unlawful

Maltitol and maltitol syrup-965-Vegetarian-humectant, stabiliser

Maltose--Halal-A white crystalline sugar formed by the action of diastases enzyme in malt or starch.


Margarines --Questionable-Originally called oleomargarine and widely used as a substitute for butter. May contain animal fats, fish oils, vitamin D3, E numbers, whey, gelatine.

Marshmallow--Questionable-port gelatin may be used

Methyl cellulose-461-Halal-Vegetable gum thickener, emulsifier, stabilizer

Methyl silicone--Halal-Better frying, antifoam

Molasses--Halal-Syrup liquid obtained in refining sugar.

Mono- and di-glycerides of fatty acids-471-Questionable-emulsifier, halal if the source is plant.

Monosodium Glutamate (MSG)-621-Halal-Used to impart meat flavour as well as other natural food flavours and to improve the taste of tobacco.

Natural Flavoring (or Flavors)--Questionable-May contain animal ingredients.

Niacin-375-Halal-One of the B complex vitamins.

Oleic Acid--Questionable-Fatty acids occurring widely in animal fats and vegetable oils. The best source in plants is olive oil whereas in animals is lard.

Olive Oil --Halal-No problems! Just worth knowing about.

Oxalic Acid--Questionable-An organic compound found in several fruits and vegetables. It reacts with calcium and magnesium in the digestive tract to form an insoluble complex compound which is neither released for absorption nor utilized. Fortunately, most foods do not contain enough of the above to cause harm to the body.

Oxidised polyethylene-914-Vegetarian-Humectant

Oxysterin--Questionable-Inhibits crystallization, release agent

PABA--Halal-A food supplement.

Pasta --Questionable-May contain egg.

Pastry --Questionable-May contain animal fat.

Pectin-440 or 440a-Halal-A gelatinous substance extracted from fruits. Commercial pectin is used in the preparation of jams, jellies and similar food products. Pectin can be used to control diarrhoea.

Pepsin--Haram-A digestive enzyme of gastric juices usually extracted from a pig's stomach. Usually the ingredient is not labelled.

Phenyl Alanine--Questionable-An essential amino acid found in plants, milk and animals.

Phosphates--Halal-Derived from glycerol and fatty acids. May be from animal bones too.

Phospholipids -- Phosphatides --Questionable-A fat containing phosphorus. This includes lecithin.

Phosphoric Acid-338-Halal-An organic compound used as a solvent. This acid is added to some non-alcoholic beverages like Pepsi, Coca-Cola, 7-UP and the like. May ruin the enamel of the teeth. Those with sensitive teeth (like most of us here), may experience discomfort or pain after drinking carbonated drinks with phosphoric acid.


Potassium citrate-332-Halal-Sequestrant

Potassium gluconate-577-Vegetarian-stabiliser

Potassium phosphate -340-Halal-Sequestrant, production of caramel

Propionic acid-280-Vegetarian (Halal)-A preservative.

Propylene glycol-1520-Questionable-Emulsifier agent, solvent. Halal if from petroleum or other halal source.

Pure vegetable shortening--Halal-Source of this kind of shortening is plant.

Quinoline yellow-104-Vegetarian-CI 47005, colouring

Rennet or Rennin--Haram-An enzyme taken from the stomach of a newly killed calf used in the cheese making process. Usually not labelled. Vegetarian cheese is produced using microbial or fungal enzymes.

Riboflavin-101-NonVeg (Halal)-One of the B complex vitamins. Usually the source is synthetic.

Roe --Halal-Fish eggs, see caviar.

Rum--Haram-An alcoholic liquor made from sugar cane or molasses. It can be clear but is usually colored brownish-red by storage in oak casks or by the addition of caramel

Saccharine-954-Halal (discouraged for health reasons)-An artificial sweetener about 500 times sweeter than table sugar. It has no caloric value. Saccharin, as a sweetener, produces a bitter taste for some individuals. It is ideal for those who want to cut down on caloric intakes. Ironically, saccharine has been found to cause bladder cancer in rats. This sweetener has been recently taken off the food industry's 'black list'. Officially, it is safe but it is still considered by many as detrimental to health.

Shellac-904-NonVeg (Halal)-Glazing agent, secreted under tree bark by insects. To be treated in a similar way to Honey.

Shortening--Haram-Denotes any oil or fat. The sources of oils are mainly plants while fats are mainly from animals. If the word shortening is listed on the label of a product, it would be difficult to know whether oil or fat has been used. Vegetable shortening may contain 80-90% vegetable oil and 10-20% animal fats. On labels, this may only be reflected as ' vegetable oil'. To be sure, look for 100% vegetable oil or pure vegetable shortening. Bakeries and food industries themselves may not be able to verify the presence or absence of lard in shortenings as this varies from one batch to another depending on the availability and costs.

Soap ---Many soaps are not vegetarian since they use animal fats and/or glycerine. Vegetable oil based soaps are quite widely available.

Sodium acid pyro-phosphate-450-Halal-Sequestrant, mineral salt

Sodium alginate-401-Halal-Stabilizer, thickener, vegetable gum

Sodium ascorbate-301-Halal-Vitamin C, preservative, colour fixative

Sodium bicarbonate-500-Halal-Chemical preservative

Sodium bisulfite-222-Halal-Chemical preservative

Sodium caseinate-469-NonVeg (Halal)-Binding agent, nutrient

Sodium citrate-331-Halal-Controls acid, improves and protects flavour

Sodium cyclamate-952-Vegetarian-artificial sweetening substance

Sodium hexameta phosphate--Halal-Sequestrant, water blending agent

Sodium Lauryl Sulfate--Halal-Whipping agent

Sodium metaphosphate-452-Vegetarian-insoluble mineral salt

Sodium phosphate-339-Halal-Sequestrant

Sodium saccharin-954-Vegetarian-artificial sweetening substance

Sodium stearate--Questionable-Conditioning agent

Soft Drinks ---Some canned Orange drinks use gelatine as a carrier for added

Beta Carotine. (This would not appear on the ingredients panel).

Sorbic acid-200-Halal-Chemical preservatives

Sorbitan monostearate-491-Questionable-Emulsifier, surfactant

Sorbitol-420-Halal-A sugar alcohol formed by the reduction of the sugar

glucose or fructose. Medicinally, it is used as a diuretic since it can be metabolized without insulin. However, excessive use of sorbitol may cause diarrhoea and gastrointestinal distress.

Soup --NonVeg-Watch out for the stock.

Sour Cream Solids--Questionable-without gelatin

Soya Sauce--Halal-only all purpose Seasoned with out alcohol

Sperm oil--NonVeg (Halal)-A liquid wax from the sperm whale

Spermaceti -- Cetyl Palmitate--NonVeg (Halal)-A solid constituent refined from sperm oil

Spirits (alcoholic that is!) --Haram-Possible problems with fining and filtering.

Stannous chloride-512-Halal-Chemical preservative

Stearates --Questionable-This usually comes in the form of _calcium stearate_, and it is found in hard candies like Gobstoppers and Sweetarts as well as other places. It comes from stearic acid, which usually is derived from tallow, or animal fat. Stearate is also used in vinyls (like car seats) and plastics

Stearic Acid -570-Questionable-Stearic acid is used as a binder in foods, and its source may be either animal or vegetable. It is found in vegetable and animal oils, animal fats, cascarilla bark extract, and in synthetic form. It is used in butter flavoring, vanilla flavoring, chewing gum and candy, fruit waxes, and may not be vegetarian

Steriods--Questionable-(sic), could be misspelling for steroids

Stock --NonVeg-May contain animal fat.

Sucralose-955-Vegetarian-artificial sweetening substance

Sucrose acetate isobutyrate-444-Vegetarian-emulsifier, stabiliser

Suet --NonVeg-Usually made from animal fat, vegetable versions are available.

Sweetener--Halal-Substance that gives a sweet taste.

Sweets ---Look out for gelatine in boiled sweets and mints, and cochineal in boiled sweets and Smarties. (some vegetarian sweets are listed by chocolate manufacturers.)

Tallow--NonVeg (Haram)-Fats from either cattle or beef. One should enquire whether the tallow used is from a zabiha animal.

Tannin--Halal-Also known as tannic acid. Tannins are used in tanning, dyeing, photography and as a clarifying agents for beer and wine.

Tartaric Acid-334-Halal-It is widely distributed in nature and is classified as a fruit acid. Practically, all of the tartaric acid sold today is a by-product of the wine industry. In products, it is used in soft drinks, confectioneries, bakeries and in pharmaceutics, it is used as a buffering agent. Although tartaric acid is naturally found in grapes, its isolation is from wine-making industry. Hence, one has to be careful when tartaric acid is added to food products.

Thiamin--Halal-One of the B complex vitamins.

Tocopherols concentrate-306-Questionable-mixed, antioxidant

Tofu--Questionable-Halal if the coagulant is halal.

Toothpaste ---Many brands contain glycerine.

Torula Yeast grown on liquor--Questionable-Haram if grown on liquor, halal if grown on sugar cane or halal sulfite waste


Tryptophan --Questionable (Halal)-Amino acids mainly from from meat, eggs, and milk. Plant sources of amino acids are often weak in lysine and tryptophan.

Uric Acid--Questionable-Found in the urine of mammals and it is in the solid form in the urine of birds and reptiles. Uric acid or urates are used for treatment of some central nervous diseases. Synthetic uric acid is o.k. to use.

Vanilla Extract--Haram-A flavouring extract made from the vanilla bean and used in candy, ice cream, and perfumes. The flavour extracted from vanilla beans is most commonly dissolved in alcohol. Documentation from a distributor of vanilla extract showed that the ingredient contained 50% alcohol

Vanillin or Vanillic Acid--Halal-Obtained from vanilla or produced synthetically. Please note thatsome types are dissolved in alcohol before they are used. This makes them unlawful to consume. Be wary about this.


Vitamin A--Halal-If source are plant and synthetic, it is halal.

Vitamin C-300-Halal-Natural sources are from plant. (e.g. citrus fruit, tomatoes, etc).

Vitamin D--Halal-Natural sources are yeast and fish liver oil. Also synthetically produced.

Vitamin E-306-Halal-Rich sources of Vitamin E are vegetable oils. When source is synthetic, it is halal. If source is animal, it is suspected.

Vitamins--Questionable-Haram when from animal source. Mostly the source is synthetic or plant and are Halal. Vitamin D2 is produced by sunlight acting on bacteria, however D3 is derived from lanolin from sheeps' wool therefore only D3 which is guaranteed sourced from wool sheared from live sheep is considered acceptable.

Washing powder ---Soap based powders may contain animal fats.

Water--Halal-The nutrient most vital to man's existense.

Waxes --Questionable-Naturally occurring esters of fatty acids and monohydric alcohols. Now refers to both natural and manufactured products resembling these esters. Typical animal waxes are sperm oil, a liquid wax from the sperm whale, and spermaceti, a solid constituent refined from sperm oil; lanolin, or wool grease, the principal constituent of the natural wool fat of sheep; and Chinese wax, a secretion of insects. Vegetable waxes occur on the exposed surfaces of many plants, particularly on leaves, protecting the plant against the excessive loss or gain of water.

Whey and Whey Powder--Questionable-The watery part of milk that separates from the curd when milk sours and becomes coagulated, or when cheese is made. Rennet is used to curd the milk. Whey should be avoided because the rennet used to curd the milk could be from a non-halal source.

Wine --Haram-May have been fined using isinglass, dried blood, egg albumen, gelatine, chitin. Vegetarian alternatives include bentonite, kieselguhr, kaolin and silica gel. Non vintage port is fined with gelatine.

Wool ---May not be so sheep friendly.

Wool Fat --NonVeg-See Lanolin

Wool Wax--NonVeg-See Lanolin

Worcester Sauce ---Most brands contain anchovies.

Xanthan gum-415-Halal-A natural gum with a high molecular weight that is produced by the fermentation of glucose and is used in the food industry as a stabilizer

Xylitol-967-Vegetarian (Halal)-humectant, stabiliser

Yeast--Questionable (Haram when it produces ethyl alcohol during fermentation)-Fermenting agent

Yoghurts --NonVeg-Some low fat yoghurts contain gelatine.

Zein--Halal-A protein obtained from corn.

The Haram Emulsifier Code

The Haram Emulsifier Code- Simplified Please Always keep in the pocket . Both With "E" and Without "E" 120,140, 141, 160[a], 161, 252,300,301,422, 430, 431, 433, 435, 436, 441,470,471(*Animal Base),472[a],472[b],472[c],472[d], 472[e], 473, 474, 475, 476,477, 478, 481, 482, 483, 491, 492,493, 494, 542, 570, 572, 631, 635,920 (*471 Vegetable Base is said to be Halaal)

The following Emulsifiers – With or Without E are Suspected - Mashbooh - مَشْبُوْه E100, E110, E120, E153, E210, E213, E214, E216, E234, E256, E270, E280. E325, E326, E327, E334, E335, E336, E337.E432, E433, E434, E440, E470, E472, E495 E904.

© Halal Alternative Solutions Copyright 2013-2017 Website By: